The Hydrogen Clusters4Future aim to connect regional, national and international players from Economy, Science and Society in joint projects and to sustainably transfer hydrogen technologies to application in North-Rhine Westphalia. The combined competencies of the partners include all areas of the hydrogen value chain such as production, storage, distribution and usage. In the following a short overview of the partners is given.


RWTH Aachen University

RWTH Aachen coordinates the Hydrogen Clusters4Future.

Funded institutes of RWTH Aachen

AVT.CVT – Chair of Chemical Process Engineering
AVT.ERT – Electrochemical Reaction Engineering
AVT.SVT – Process Systems Engineering
DAP – Digital Additive Production
E.ON ERC EBC – Institute for Energy Efficient Buildings and Indoor Climate
E.ON ERC FCN-ESE – Institute for Future Energy Consumer Needs and Behavior
IKDG – Institute for Power Plant Technology, Steam and Gas Turbines
IKV – Institute for Plastics Processing
IRT – Institute of Automatic Control
ISEA – Institute for Power Electronics and Electrical Drives
IST – Institute of Jet Propulsion and Turbomachinery
ITA – Chair of Textile machinery
ITMC – Institute of Technical und Macromolecular Chemistry
ITV – Institute for Combustion Technology
LTT – Chair of Technical Thermodynamics
PEM – Production Engineering of E-Mobility Components
SOTEC – Chair of Society and Technology
TIM – Technology and Innovation Management
TME – Thermodynamics of Mobile Energy Conversion Systems


Forschungszentrum Jülich

The Forschungszentrum Jülich and its Institutes of Energy and Climate Research act as the Co-Coordinator for the Hydrogen Clusters4Future.

Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK)

IEK-1: Materials Synthesis and Processing

IEK-3: Techno-Economic Systems Analysis

IEK-9: Fundamental Electrochemistry

IEK-14: Electrochemical Process Engineering

Funded partners

Association for the Promotion of the Institute for Plastics Processing in Industry and Trade at RWTH Aachen

Bender GmbH Maschinenbau- und Steckmetallfabrik

Carbon Minds GmbH

Covestro Deutschland AG

EKPO Fuel Cells Technologies GmbH

F.A. Kümpers GmbH & Co. KG

FEV Europe GmbH

Ford Werke GmbH

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH

Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie (IPT)

Fumatech BWT GmbH

GKN Sinter Metals Engineering GmbH

GKN Sinter Metals Filters GmbH Radevormwald

HD Sonderoptiken für die Lasertechnik

Heraeus Deutschland GmbH & Co. KG


Kueppers Solutions GmbH

MeliCon GmbH

New Power Pack GmbH

NPROXX Jülich GmbH

Pierburg GmbH

PPS Pipeline Systems GmbH

Precors GmbH

Siemens Aktiengesellschaft

SMS Group GmbH

TLK Energy GmbH

Voss Fluid GmbH

Associated Partners

The list of our associated partners will follow shortly.

Further Cooperations

Center for Sustainable Hydrogen Systems

The hydrogen 1-Stop-Shop at RWTH Aachen – Over 50 professors join their forces in hydrogen research

Helmholtz-Cluster Wasserstoff (HC-H2)

Hydrogen transportation research from lab scale to application

Women in Green Hydrogen

Network of passionate women increasing the visibility and amplifying the voices of women working in green hydrogen

Hydrogen Hub Aachen

Local industry network with the goal to establish a hydrogen economy in the area around Aachen

Fuel Cell Industrialization – RWTH Campus

The Campus Center allows industry partners to enroll RWTH Aachen

TrHy – The Hydrogen Proving Area

A research and innovation lab to implement fuel cells for mobile heavy-duty applications

Zukunftscluster NeuroSys

Novel chip hardware approaches for dedicated artificial intelligence applications